suntimes
COARSE 
Weather Updates

6-year-old is a natural

The rare sight dog-day cicademerging was spotted by 6-year-old with an eye for outdoors. | Dale Bowman~For Sun-Times

The rare sight of a dog-day cicada emerging was spotted by a 6-year-old with an eye for the outdoors. | Dale Bowman~For the Sun-Times

storyidforme: 16993971
tmspicid: 6104996
fileheaderid: 2851101

Updated: November 3, 2011 11:28AM

He picked the dried brown shell of a cicada off the ground by our maple last week, then ran off to put it into his ‘‘box of skins.’’

That terminology from our 6-year-old caught my ears.

So I asked. And he showed me his ‘‘box of skins,’’ a small plastic tub with the dried, shed skin of a garter snake and a half-dozen cicada shells.

I remember when he announced finding the snake skin early in the summer. The cicada shells have piled up for a couple of weeks. For some reason, he decided to collect them.

It made me proud.

As an outdoor writer, I feel compelled to make sure my kids take at least a token interest in the ways of nature.

Like everybody else in my position or a similar one, I’ve had to deal with the meaning of Richard Louv’s Last Child in the Woods: Saving Our Children From Nature Deficit Disorder.

And I have. But somebody explain to me why our final kid is the one with a true, driven interest in the outdoors.

Why he gets up early enough to sit and watch the bird feeder, then announce the arrival of blue jays and cardinals, making distinctions between male and female cardinals. Why he spots the goldfinches on the sunflowers first? Why he notices downy woodpeckers making their nervous ways around trees?

I don’t think my wife and I did anything that different in trying to impart an appreciation of the outdoors.

In fact, just by the nature of family life, I think the oldest one had greater opportunities than the three kids that followed.