Hawks dispute goalie interference call that wiped out tying goal
BY MARK POTASH firstname.lastname@example.org May 20, 2013 10:27PM
Updated: May 21, 2013 12:56PM
DETROIT — Missed opportunities doomed the Blackhawks on Monday night. But as usually is the case, one disputed call loomed larger than all of them put together in a 3-1 loss to the Red Wings in Game 3 at Joe Louis Arena.
Sixty-seven seconds after Patrick Kane scored to cut the Hawks’ deficit to 2-1 early in the third period, Viktor Stalberg appeared to score the tying goal on a shot from the right circle. But officials ruled that Andrew Shaw was in the crease and disallowed the goal for goaltender interference.
Shaw was in the left side of the crease as he battled for position in front of Red Wings goalie Jimmy Howard. But the Blackhawks disputed whether he ‘‘impaired the goalie’s ability to move freely within his crease or defend his goal” as stated by NHL rules.
‘‘I disagree with the call,’’ coach Joel Quenneville stated flatly. ‘‘He didn’t touch the goalie.’’
The call helped turn the game back in the Red Wings’ favor. Sixty- four seconds later, Pavel Datsyuk beat Corey Crawford with a wrist shot to give the Wings a 3-1 lead with 13:14 left in regulation.
‘‘I think that’s the first time I’ve seen in-the-crease called since about 2000,’’ Crawford said.
It was that kind of night for Stalberg, who said he ‘‘nearly killed myself’’ when he missed a check and went headfirst into the boards in the first period and after returning had a close-in shot hit the bottom of the crossbar and stay out.
‘‘It’s one of those things I think maybe they can call, but most of the time they’re going to let that one go,’’ Stalberg said. ‘‘Especially when you get pushed in [the crease] and he doesn’t even touch the goalie.
‘‘But it seemed like that’s the way they were calling this game all night. We couldn’t seem to get a call [for] us. In every scrum, they were picking up our guys off the ice. It was frustrating. But we’ve got to fight through adversity.’’
The Red Wings didn’t get all the calls. Coach Mike Babcock said Niklas Hjalmarsson should have been called for a penalty when he checked Johan Franzen into the boards, leading to Kane’s goal. But Babcock gave the officials a pass on that one. For the Hawks, there was little wonder why.