Weather Updates

Jonathan Toews thrilled to win the Selke Trophy

2013 NHL Stanley Cup Final - Game One

2013 NHL Stanley Cup Final - Game One

storyidforme: 50761244
tmspicid: 18910363
fileheaderid: 8530935

Updated: July 16, 2013 6:32AM

It’s not the trophy Jonathan Toews wants most — that’s still three wins away — but winning the Frank J. Selke Trophy was no small accomplishment for the Blackhawks captain.

“It means the world,” Toews told the team website.

Toews edged out fellow Stanley Cup finalist Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins for the award, which is given to the NHL’s top defensive forward and is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association. Toews earned 75 first-place votes and had 1,260 points in the tiered point system, while Bergeron had 78 first-place votes and 1,250 points. Detroit’s Pavel Datsyuk was third with 737 votes.

Toews and Datsyuk were tied for the league lead with 56 takeaways this season. Toews also won 55 percent of his faceoffs while posting 23 goals and 25 assists.

“It feels pretty amazing,” Toews said. “To be nominated for an award along with guys like Pavel Datsyuk and Patrice Bergeron is a pretty amazing thing. You really have a lot of respect for those two guys and the way they played the game.”

Toews has just one goal in the postseason, but his relentless work in the corners and backchecking in his own zone has kept him one of the more visible and important players on the ice throughout the Hawks’ run to the Stanley Cup Final.

“He’s the ultimate player, as far as in all zones,” Hawks coach Joel Quenne-ville said. “Offensively, his numbers may be down, but the one thing you get from [Toews], without the puck, they’ve got to be concerned with him. He takes the opponents’ top matchups a lot of times, they’re going to see [Toews] a lot.”

Toews was being discussed as a possible Hart Trophy (MVP) candidate, but was not among the three finalists.

The Hart, Norris (top defenseman), Calder (top rookie; Brandon Saad is a finalist) and Vezina (top goalie) will be announced before Game 2 on Saturday.

On Friday, several awards were handed out, with the Hawks making a strong showing.

Ottawa’s Paul MacLean won the Jack Adams as coach of the year (Joel Quenneville was second), Tampa Bay’s Martin St. Louis won the Lady Byng for combining excellence with gentlemanly play (Patrick Kane was a close second), and Pittsburgh’s Ray Shero was named general manager of the year (Stan Bowman was fourth). Ottawa’s Daniel Alfredsson won the Mark Messier Leadership Award over Toews.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.