Weather Updates

United Center get’s NCAA Frozen Four in 2017

Updated: December 11, 2013 2:00PM

INDIANAPOLIS — Chicago’s United Center gets the 2017 men’s Frozen Four, a first for the Blackhawks’ home arena, the NCAA announced Wednesday.

NCAA officials announced 523 host sites for 82 championships. Sites for the Division I men’s basketball tournament, Division I baseball and softball tourneys, Division I football playoffs and women’s Final Fours had already been chosen.

Madison Square Garden will host the 2016 NCAA Division I wrestling national championships — the iconic arena’s first NCAA title event since the 1950 Final Four.

The University of Oregon will host Division I outdoor track and field championships from 2015-2021, and all three NCAA divisions will compete for field hockey titles at Louisville in 2017.

The Division III football championship game will stay four more years in Salem, Va.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.