Weather Updates

Rose Bowl inks 12-year deal with ESPN

Rose Bowl Game presented by Vizio - Wisconsv Oregon

Rose Bowl Game presented by Vizio - Wisconsin v Oregon

storyidforme: 32830846
tmspicid: 8728774
fileheaderid: 3935018

Updated: June 28, 2012 6:12PM

The Big Ten, the Pac-12 and ESPN have reached a 12-year agreement with the Rose Bowl, the Big Ten announced Thursday. The new agreement begins in January 2015, coinciding with the new four-team seeded playoff in college football, and runs through 2026. According to the agreement, the Rose Bowl will be played every year on Jan. 1 at 4 p.m., or Jan. 2 if Jan. 1 is a Sunday.

ESPN President John Skipper, Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany, Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott and Rose Bowl officials announced the deal Thursday. Skipper called the Rose Bowl “one of sport’s most meaningful” events.

ESPN will keep the broadcast rights to the Rose Bowl regardless of the final format developed for college football’s new playoff system, which kicks in for the 2014 season. The first championship game under the new system is Jan. 12, 2015.

The network’s current deal with the Rose Bowl runs through the 2014 BCS title game.

Contributing: AP

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.