Weather Updates

NFC’s Halas trophy has new look

The new-look George S. Halas Trophy awarded winner NFC Championship game. | AP

The new-look George S. Halas Trophy, awarded to the winner of the NFC Championship game. | AP

storyidforme: 6839224
tmspicid: 1785090
fileheaderid: 1174615
Article Extras
Story Image

The legacy of George S. Halas as a player, coach and owner cannot be changed.

But the trophy bearing his name has undergone a facelift.

And the timing couldn’t have been better.

The George S. Halas Trophy, given to the winner of the NFC, was redesigned to bear a more striking resemblance to the Lombardi Trophy, given to the Super Bowl champion. The Bears and Green Bay Packers play Sunday at Soldier Field to win the Halas for the right to play for the Lombardi.

“We have this tremendous history, in the Halas Trophy,” said Jaime Weston, the vice president of the NFL Brand and Creative, noting the look had been the same since 1984. “But when we were looking at the overall postseason, and what’s aspirational for players and fans, we saw them sitting there with the Vince Lombardi trophy and we thought there was a better story.

“Everything in the NFL,” Weston said, “is about stories.”

And nobody was centrally cast in more than Halas.

But the NFL commissioned Tiffany’s & Co., the high-end jeweler that designed the Lombardi Trophy, to handle the redesign of the Halas Trophy, too. The league gave Tiffany’s some direction, highlighting their postseason credo: Intense, meaningful and unifying.

After nine months, Tiffany’s submitted a trophy that looks radically different, with a silver base and a hollowed out silver football.

The Lombardi Trophy’s football is solid silver.

“When you see it all together, you really do see how you’re making those strides toward that final game,” Weston said. “We believe that the whole look and silver matches the preeminence of the NFL brand.”

The league also redesigned the Super Bowl logo.

Next year, Tiffany’s will also redesign the Pete Rozelle Trophy, given to the Super Bowl MVP.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.