Duncan Keith has heated exchange with female reporter
BY MARK LAZERUS firstname.lastname@example.org April 23, 2013 10:42AM
Chicago Blackhawks Vs Nashville Predators. Chicago Blackhawks No.2 Duncan Keith. Saturday April 18, 2013 I Photo by Scott Stewart~Sun-Times
Updated: April 23, 2013 4:41PM
Blackhawks defenseman Duncan Keith got into a testy exchange with a female Vancouver radio reporter after Monday’s loss to the Canucks. Karen Thomson thought Keith should have been penalized for a two-handed stick swipe he took as Daniel Sedin finished his breakaway in the second period for the Canucks’ third goal. Here’s the complete exchange, which sparked a lot of discussion in Vancouver on Monday night:
Reporter: Can you talk about what happened after the Daniel Sedin goal?
Keith: Which one was that one?
Reporter: Third goal.
Keith: Third one? Um, we scored one goal after that, I think. And then the game ended 3-1.
Reporter: Right after the goal when you were on the ice, right after he scored.
Keith: They scored. I went off the ice and took a minus. I don’t know, what are you talking about?
Reporter: Just checking.
Keith: What did you see?
Reporter: Well, it looked like maybe there was a penalty that went undetected. You seemed a bit frustrated.
Keith: Oh, no, I don’t think there was anything. I think he scored a nice goal and the ref was right there. That’s what the ref saw. We should get you as a ref maybe, eh?
Reporter: Yeah, maybe.
Keith: First female referee?
Reporter: I can’t skate, though.
Keith: Can’t play probably either, right?
Reporter: No (laughing).
Keith: But you’re thinking the game like you know it? Yeah, see ya.