suntimes
SIMMERING 
Weather Updates

‘Bizarre’ sequence sees Brewer try to steal second twice

Jean Segurtries steal second with DarwBarney covering during eighth inning Friday. Segurwas tagged out. | Morry Gash~AP

Jean Segura tries to steal second with Darwin Barney covering during the eighth inning Friday. Segura was tagged out. | Morry Gash~AP

storyidforme: 48015218
tmspicid: 17811009
fileheaderid: 8019468

MILWAUKEE — It was a play that had no bearing on the outcome of the game, but it might be talked about for years by anyone who saw it Friday at Miller Park.

In one of the strangest sequences in recent memory, the Brewers’ Jean Segura stole second in the sixth inning. Two batters later, he ended the inning getting caught trying to steal second.

“Bizarre,” umpire crew chief Tom Hallion said.

With Segura at second, Ryan Braun at first and nobody out, Segura broke for third.

That’s when pitcher Shawn Camp threw to third baseman Luis Valbuena, who ran Segura back to second, where Braun now stood.

Both were tagged while on the base. Before Segura realized that Braun, by rule, was out, Segura surrendered the base and jogged toward the first-base dugout.

The Cubs scrambled to chase him down, but nobody was covering first to field a throw. Segura was directed by the first-base coach to get on the bag.

“Technically, he stole second, stole first, then got thrown out stealing second,” Hallion said.

Said second-base umpire Phil Cuzzi: “Never saw that.”

Umpire supervisor Larry Young, in attendance in the press box, referred media to rule No. 703(b) and rule No. 708(i). Bottom line: A player is allowed to retreat to a previous, unoccupied base, as long as it’s not making a “travesty” of the game.

“The problem was the umpire didn’t see us tag Segura when he came off the bag,” Cubs manager Dale Sveum said. “They were both tagged when they were both on the base. But when Segura thought he was out, he popped up and Valbuena tagged him again, and the umpire didn’t see him tag him.”

Camp then struck out Rickie Weeks for the second out.

Then Segura added the final touch by trying to re-steal second, but he was thrown out.

“Lucky it all worked out,” Sveum said.



© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit www.suntimesreprints.com. To order a reprint of this article, click here.