Weather Updates

David Price edges Justin Verlander for AL Cy Young Award, R.A. Dickey wins in NL

FILE - This Aug. 5 2012 file phoshows TampBay Rays' David Price reacting catch by right fielder Matt Joyce fly

FILE - This Aug. 5, 2012 file photo shows Tampa Bay Rays' David Price reacting to a catch by right fielder Matt Joyce on a fly ball by Baltimore Orioles' Taylor Teagarden during the second inning of a baseball game in St. Petersburg, Fla. Price and 2011 winner Justin Verlander are among the finalists for this year's AL Cy Young Award, Wednesday, Nov. 14, 2012. (AP Photo/Mike Carlson, FIle)

storyidforme: 40113745
tmspicid: 14810590
fileheaderid: 6748575
Article Extras
Story Image

NEW YORK — David Price of the Tampa Bay Rays and knuckleballer R.A. Dickey of the New York Mets are baseball’s Cy Young Award winners.

Price barely beat out 2011 winner Justin Verlander for the American League award Wednesday in one of the closest votes ever. Dickey was an easy choice for the NL honor in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

The 38-year-old Dickey became the first pitcher who relied predominantly on a knuckleball to win the Cy Young Award, an achievement mentors such as Hall of Famer Phil Niekro are quite proud of.

Runner-up two years ago in the Cy Young race, Price was the pick this time for the AL’s top pitching prize. He received 14 of 28 first-place votes to edge Verlander, chosen first on 13 ballots.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.