Weather Updates

Nationals’ Davey Johnson, A’s Bob Melvin win MLB Manager of the Year awards

FILE - In this Sept. 1 2012 file phoWashingtNationals manager Davey Johnssmiles dugout during baseball game against St. Louis Cardinals

FILE - In this Sept. 1, 2012,, file photo, Washington Nationals manager Davey Johnson smiles in the dugout during a baseball game against the St. Louis Cardinals at Nationals Park in Washington. Johnson was voted as the National League Manager of the Year on Tuesday, Nov. 13, 2012. (AP Photo/Alex Brandon, File)

storyidforme: 40051821
tmspicid: 14787413
fileheaderid: 6742765
Article Extras
Story Image

Updated: November 13, 2012 6:04PM

NEW YORK — Davey Johnson of the Washington Nationals and Bob Melvin of the Oakland Athletics have been chosen as managers of the year.

Johnson easily won the NL honor on Tuesday after the Nationals bolted to the best record in baseball. Melvin was picked narrowly for the AL award over Baltimore’s Buck Showalter in voting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Johnson, who turns 70 in January, was honored for the second time. He was tabbed as the AL’s top manager in 1997, hours after he resigned from the Orioles in a feud with owner Peter Angelos. Washington went 98-64 this year, taking over the NL East lead in late May and staying in first place the rest of the way. Washington won its second-ever major postseason award. Bryce Harper was voted NL Rookie of the Year on Monday.

Melvin also became a two-time winner, having been chosen in 2007 with Arizona. Davey Johnson has been chosen as the NL Manager of the Year after guiding the Washington Nationals to the best record in the major leagues.

Johnson easily won Tuesday in voting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.