Weather Updates

Cubs 2nd baseman Darwin Barney wins Gold Glove; White Sox’ Peavy earns award in AL

Second baseman DarwBarney could earn Gold Glove after playing record 116 games without making an error. | Charles Rex Arbogast~AP

Second baseman Darwin Barney could earn a Gold Glove after playing a record 116 games without making an error. | Charles Rex Arbogast~AP

storyidforme: 39285296
tmspicid: 13242036
fileheaderid: 6095535
Article Extras
Story Image

Updated: December 1, 2012 4:54PM

One of the few bright spots in an otherwise miserable Cubs season, second baseman Darwin Barney became the club’s first Gold Glove winner in five years, beating out three-time winner Brandon Phillips of the Cincinnati Reds.

Barney, who tied the major-league record with 141 consecutive errorless games at second this season, is the first Cub to win the award since Derrek Lee in 2007, in voting of managers and coaches announced Tuesday.

He’s the fourth Cubs second baseman to win the award and the first since 1991, when Barney’s minor-league manager and mentor, nine-time winner Ryne Sandberg, won it. Ken Hubbs (1962) and Glenn Beckert (1968) also won Gold Gloves.

“With what he did defensively, now it’s just a [matter] of small continued progress offensively,” Epstein said. “If he gets on base a little bit more – and you look at what he does defensively, and with his intangibles, he can be a guy.’’

‘‘It’s something you came into the season working towards, but it’s not something that I thought the results would be there as quickly as they were,’’ Barney said. ‘‘I’m extremely happy about it. … I’m really surprised it ended up happening for me.’’

Barney had a .997 fielding percentage and committed two errors at second (three including one at shortstop). He performed even stronger in newer metrics, such as defensive runs saved. He led the majors at all positions in that category with 28.

A good day for Peavy

Recently re-signed White Sox pitcher Jake Peavy took home the Gold Glove award as well for the first time. It marks the fourth consecutive year that a White Sox pitcher earned the award, with former White Sox southpaw Mark Buehrle winning the last three seasons (he won the award again this year with the Miami Marlins). Peavy tied Tampa Bay Rays right-hander Jeremy Hellickson for the award. Also Tuesday, Peavy signed a two-year, $29 million contract extension with the White Sox.

NOTE: Derek Johnson, 41, pitching coach and assistant head coach at Vanderbilt the last 11 seasons, is the Cubs’ new minor-league pitching coordinator. Vanderbilt had six pitchers drafted in the first round under Johnson.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.