Weather Updates

Steppenwolf Theatre highlights casting for upcoming season

Updated: August 23, 2012 9:55AM

Steppenwolf Theatre will make strong use of its ensemble during the 2012-2013 season, but it also is drawing on some very gifted Chicago talent outside its roster.

For it’s mainstage opener, David Lindsay-Abaire’s “Good People,” director K. Todd Freeman has tapped Alana Arenas, Mariann Mayberry and Molly Regan, as well as WillAllan, Keith Kupferer and Lusia Strus.

Sandra Delgado, Sandra Marquez, John Ortiz and Gary Perez will be featured in Stephen Adly Giurgis’ “The Motherf**ker with the Hat,” with Anna D. Shapiro revisiting her Tony-nominated Broadway direction of the play.

For his revival of Harold Pinter’s menacing “The Birthday Party, director Austin Pendleton will work with Steppenwolf stalwarts Ian Barford, Francis Guinan and John Mahoney, with a rare return by early troupe member Moira Harris (wife of co-founder Gary Sinise), and their daughter, Sophia Sinise. And for ensemble member Tarell Alvin McCraney’s “Head of Passes,” Tina Landau (who directed his earlier work, “The Brother/Sister Plays”), has castArenas, Freeman, Jon Michael Hill and Tim Hopper, along with Cheryl Lynn Bruce, Glenn Davis and Jacqueline Williams. Arenas and Kate Arrington will star in the season’s final show, Amy Herzog’s “Belleville.”

In the fall, the company’s high-profile Young Adults production, “The Book Thief” — Heidi Stillman’s adaptation of the novel by Markus Zusak, to be directed by Hallie Gordon — will feature Francis Guinan, Patrick Andrews, Amy J. Carle, Rob Fagin, Rae Gray, Dennis William Grimes, Nikki Klix, Ian Knox, Anthony-Jon LeSage, Clancy McCartney, Andy Monson, Mark Ulrich and Nicole Wiesner. Its winter offering, journalist Miles Harvey’s “How Long Will I Cry?: Voices of Youth Violence,” will be directed by Edward Torres (currently giving a fine performance in the Victory Gardens production of “Oedipus el Rey”), and will feature Harvey’s students at DePaul University.

For tickets, call (312) 335-1650 or visit

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.