Weather Updates

Soul Train Award nominations honor Amy Winehouse, Whitney Houston, R. Kelly

Whitney Houstreceived 2012 Soul TraAward nominatifor her collaboratiwith JordSparks 'Celebrate' from film 'Sparkle.'

Whitney Houston received a 2012 Soul Train Award nomination for her collaboration with Jordin Sparks on "Celebrate" from the film "Sparkle."

storyidforme: 37259846
tmspicid: 12930853
fileheaderid: 5970444
Article Extras
Story Image

Updated: September 22, 2012 9:55AM

Amy Winehouse and Whitney Houston picked up posthumous nominations for the 2012 Soul Train Awards announced Wednesday. The late greats are honored for “Our Day Will Come” for Best International Performance, while Houston’s “Celebrate” — her duet with Jordan Sparks from the film “Sparkle” — garnered a nod for Best Gospel International Performance.

Other noteworthy nominations include two for R. Kelly, which makes him the most-nominated artist in Soul Train Award history, and Usher received five nominations this year.

Cedric the Entertainer hosts the Soul Train Awards on Nov. 8 at Planet Hollywood in Las Vegas. The show airs on BET Nov. 25 at 9 p.m.

Here is the list of nominees:

Best New Artist

Elle Varner

Emeli Sande

J. Cole

Luke James

Robert Glasper

Centric Award


Esperanza Spalding

Gary Clark Jr.

Leah Labelle


Best Gospel/Inspirational Performance

BeBe Winans, America America

Fred Hammond, I Feel Good

Marvin Sapp, My Testimony

Mary Mary, Go Get It

Whitney Houston and Jordin Sparks, Celebrate

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year

2 Chainz feat. Drake, No Lie

Wale feat. Miguel, Lotus Flower Bomb

Nas, Daughters

Kanye West feat. Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz, Mercy

Young Jeezy feat. Ne-Yo, Leave You Alone

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist



Keyshia Cole

Mary J. Blige

Melanie Fiona

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist


Robin Thicke

Trey Songz



Album of the Year

Eric Benet, The One

Frank Ocean, Channel Orange

Nas, Life Is Good

R. Kelly, Write Me Back

Usher, Looking For Myself

Song of the Year

Estelle, “Thank You”

John Legend feat. Ludacris, “Tonight (Best You Ever Had)”

Trey Songz, “Heart Attack”

Tyrese, “Stay”

Usher, “Climax”

Wale feat. Miguel, “Lotus Flower Bomb”

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award

“Thank You,” Estelle (Writers: Arden Altino, Akene “The Champ” Dunkley, Jerry Duplessis, Doug F. Edwards, Thomas D. Richardson, Aliaune Thiam)

“Tonight (Best You Ever Had),” John Legend feat. Ludacris (Writers: Allen Arthur, Christopher “Ludacris” Bridges, Keith Justice, Miguel Pimentel “Miguel”, Clayton Reilly, John Stephens)

“Daughters,” Nas (Writers: Nasir Jones, Ernest D. Wilson, Patrick Adams, Gary DeCarlo, Dale Frashuer, Paul Leka)

“Share My Love,” R. Kelly (Writer: Robert Kelly)

“Climax,” Usher (Writers: Usher Raymond IV, Sean “Redd Stylez” Fenton, Thomas “Diplo” Pentz, Ariel Rechtshaid)

Best Dance Performance

Beyoncé, Love On Top

Chris Brown, Turn Up The Music

Nicki Minaj, Starships

Rihanna, Where Have You Been

Usher, Scream

CENTRICTV.COM AWARDS: Best Caribbean Performance

Cover Drive, Bajan Style

Damien “Junior Gong” Marley, SuperHeavy

Jimmy Cliff, Rebirth

Matisyahu, Spark Seeker

Sean Paul, Tomahawk Technique Best International Performance

Amy Winehouse, Our Day Will Come

Daley feat. Marsha Ambrosius, Alone Together

Emeli Sande, Next To Me

Estelle, Thank You

Gotye feat. Kimbra, Somebody (That I Used To Know)

Rebecca Ferguson, Nothing’s Real But Love Best Traditional Jazz Artist/Group

Chris Botti, Impressions

Kenny Garrett, Seeds From The Underground

Melody Gardot, The Absence

The Robert Glasper Experiment, Black Radio

Tony Bennett, Isn’t It Romantic Best Contemporary Jazz Artist/Group

Ben Tankard, Full Tank

Cassandra Wilson, Another Country

Esperanza Spalding, Radio Music Society

Peter White, Here We Go

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.