Weather Updates

Novel and bio win first-ever Carnegie Medals for literature

storyidforme: 32655542
tmspicid: 11911300
fileheaderid: 5446132

Updated: July 27, 2012 6:17AM

ANAHEIM, Calif. — Anne Enright’s novel The Forgotten Waltz and Robert Massie’s biography Catherine the Great have won the first-ever Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in literature.

The American Library Association announced the awards Monday at its annual conference in Anaheim, Calif. The Carnegie awards for fiction and nonfiction are the first adult prizes ever sponsored by the association, which also manages the top honors for children’s literature, the John Newbery and Randolph Caldecott medals.

Enright and Massie each will receive $5,000. In its announcement, the library association praised Enright’s “supple prose” and Massie’s “compulsively readable” style. The Carnegie selection committee was chaired by Nancy Pearl, a popular Seattle-based librarian and NPR commentator.


© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.