Weather Updates

Prison terms for other Illinois officials

Updated: November 10, 2011 10:27AM

Here are some of the prison sentences other Illinois public officials received for corruption and other crimes and the actual time they served:

† Former Gov. Otto Kerner: Sentenced to three years; served seven months.

† Former Gov. Dan Walker: Sentenced to seven years; served 17 months.

† Former U.S. House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Dan Rostenkowski: Sentenced to 17 months; served 15 months, last two months in a halfway house.

† Former City Treasurer Miriam Santos: Sentenced to three years and four months ; served four months, until her conviction was thrown out. She pleaded guilty to avoid retrial and was sentenced to time served.

† Former Gov. George Ryan: Sentenced to 61/2 years; has served more than 3 years, 10 months and is still in prison.

† Former City Clerk James Laski: Sentenced to two years; served 17 months, the last six months in a halfway house.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.